Congressional Map Re-Districting

Jan 22, 2018 -- Posted by : webmaster


On January 22, 2018, the PA Supreme Court ordered the legislature to submit new maps of the 18 districts by Feb. 9. The re-districting only refers to the state’s 18 seats in the U.S. House of Representatives. The new map will be used for this spring’s primary election if approved. Republican Party leaders are seeking a stay of the PASC order from the U.S. Supreme Court. Meanwhile, the current order leaved the state’s Congressional districts in a state of flux.

According to the PASC’s initial guidance, confusion over district boundaries and residency requirements is not expected to be cleared up until near the deadline marking the three-week period to circulate the nominating papers required to be placed on May 15’s primary ballot.

Part of LUZERNE County consisting of the CITIES of Hazleton, Nanticoke, Pittston and Wilkes-Barre and the TOWNSHIPS of Bear Creek, Buck, Butler, Dallas, Dennison, Exeter, Fairview, Foster, Franklin, Hanover, Hazle (PART, Districts 01 (only blocks 2073, 2074, 2075, 2076 and 2077 of tract 216900 and blocks 1014, 1039, 1040, 1041, 1042, 1043, 1045, 2149, 2150 and 2151 of tract 217001), 02, 03, 04 and 05), Jackson, Jenkins, Kingston, Pittston, Plains, Plymouth, Rice, Wilkes-Barre and Wright and the BOROUGHS of Ashley, Avoca, Bear Creek Village, Courtdale, Dupont, Duryea, Edwardsville, Exeter, Forty Fort, Freeland, Hughestown, Jeddo, Kingston, Laflin, Larksville, Laurel Run, Luzerne, Nuangola, Penn Lake Park, Plymouth, Pringle, Sugar Notch, Swoyersville, Warrior Run, West Hazleton, West Pittston, West Wyoming, White Haven, Wyoming and Yatesville.

Part of MONROE County consisting of the TOWNSHIPS of Barrett, Chestnuthill, Coolbaugh, Jackson, Middle Smithfield, Paradise, Pocono, Polk, Price, Smithfield (PART, District 01 (all blocks except 1004, 1028, 1039, 1040, 1041, 1044, 1045, 1046, 1047, 1048, 1050 and 1058 of tract 300502)), Tobyhanna and Tunkhannock and the BOROUGH of Mount Pocono.

All of LACKAWANNA County

All of PIKE County

All of WAYNE County



Most Recent Posts

New Voting Machines Demonstrated

The Pike County Republican Committee hosted Nadeen Manzoni, Director…

Homer announces bid for re-election

Cory Homer, a resident of Matamoras for over 20 years, has announced…

GOP lawmaker compares illegal immigration to D-Day invasion

Rep. Clay Higgins (R-La.) on Wednesday compared the influx of migrants…

Republican row officers petition signing event huge success

The 2019 Pike County Republican Candidates for all row offices were…

Politics ‘We’re not going to turn on our own’: Republicans rally around Trump as threats mount

When President Trump’s longtime fixer Michael Cohen testified last…

Upcoming Events

PA Primary Election is April 28, 2020!

Jan 20, 2020, 1:00 PM

Use your VOICE to make a difference in how Pennsylvania matters!

Municipal Election Day

May 21, 2019, 7:00 AM

Your vote is your voice as an American citizen. Use this page to find…

PA Secretary of State Visits New Voting System

Apr 24, 2019, 7:00 AM

PA Secretary of State, Kathy Boockvar, will be coming to Pike County…

PCRC 20th Annual Memorial Classic Golf Tournament

Apr 5, 2019, 12:00 PM

The Pike County Republican Committee is pleased to announce the 20th…

PCCRW Annual Spring Dinner

Mar 13, 2019, 12:00 PM

Pike County Council of Republican Women Cordially Invites You to Join…


Health Development Services

Carbon, Monroe, and Pike counties operate a quality mental health and…

Congressional Map Re-Districting

On January 22, 2018, the PA Supreme Court ordered the legislature to…

Opioid Crisis

On January 10, 2018, the Governor declared the state’s opioid…

Tick Borne Diseases

Pike County commissioners created a Task Force to assist residents…